New Beginnings

March 6, 2010

Today, I had to stop and reflect. So much has happened this past year. Medical issues popped up. Job lost. Depression set it. Financial woes cropped up.

I lost weight.

On the one hand, Susan and I are back together after six years apart, but on the other hand, that was even more depressing. Always employed, bringing home a paycheck to becoming more or less a dependent was taking its toll.

I was very glad to see 2009 disappear.

In January, I got a job. Nothing too significant. Helping an autistic kid after school. Okay, I can do that. My medical issues (severe hearing impairment and a minor seizure disorder) weren’t a factor, so it was good to be out again, doing something. Anything.

But my heart is really in one thing. EMS. I’ve been a firefighter and/or EMT since 1991, and it’s something I’m very good at and enjoy tremendously.

I am slowly accepting that I probably won’t ever be doing it again, certainly not as a full-time employee.  If nothing else, I have some great memories and some great friends. 

I’ve applied for disability, and I’m waiting to hear about that.  No matter how it turns out, I’m looking forward to a much better year.  It cannot possibly be as bad as the last one.

Leave a Reply

